Registration & Tag Renewals
Under Florida law, all vehicles that operate on Florida roads must have a valid registration. Vehicles with an out-of-state registration must be registered in Florida within 10 days of the owner of the vehicle establishing residency.
Your tag “registration” consists of three parts:
- A license plate, also known as a tag, attached to the vehicle;
- A decal sticker attached to the upper right-hand corner of your tag; and
- A paper registration certificate that must be carried in the vehicle or in the possession of the driver of the vehicle.
Registration is valid for a period of one or two years, depending on which registration period you select, and expires at midnight on the first owner’s birthday. The decal sticker denotes the expiration month and year of the registration. Tags, or license plates, are valid for a period of ten years. On the tenth year of renewal, a new tag will be issued.
Renew Your Tag with MyEasyGov*
Renew online with MyEasyGov — receive it in the mail
Renew online with MyEasyGov — pick it up in person
Schedule an appointment to visit us
*A 2.39% plus $0.50 debit/ credit card processing fee will apply; $2.50 minimum.
Suspensions, Holds & Violations
Various suspensions and violations, such as parking and toll violations, may place a hold on your driver’s license and registration.
Address and Name Changes
If you move or legally change your name, you must update your address and name on both your driver’s license or ID and vehicle title and registration within 30 days after changing your address or name.
Surrender License Plate by Mail
You can surrender your Florida license plate by mail, without having to visit us in person. To surrender your plate, please download, complete and submit the Surrender License Plate by Mail Form along with your plate to Orange County Tax Collector, P.O. Box 545100, Orlando, FL 32854. Remember to include your email address as notification of receipt of the surrendered plate will be made via email.
If a person other than the owner/registrant is surrendering the license plate and decal, a photocopy of their photo identification must be provided with the Surrender License Plate by Mail form.
New Florida Residents
New Florida residents must obtain auto insurance from a valid Florida insurance agent and register their vehicle(s), vessel(s) and mobile home(s) within 10 days of establishing residency. New Florida residents must also obtain a valid Florida driver’s license within 30 days of establishing residency in order to legally drive in Florida.
You are considered a Florida resident if you have:
- Started employment in Florida;
- Enrolled your child(ren) in public school in Florida;
- Registered to vote in Florida;
- Filed for homestead tax exemption on property in Florida; or
- Lived in Florida for a period of more than six consecutive months.
New Florida residents must register and title their vehicle in their name in person. To do so:
- All registered owners should appear in person with a valid Florida identification.
- Our office will inspect the vehicle to verify the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and odometer reading.
- Bring the original title. If your vehicle is leased, bring a copy of the lease agreement.
- Proof of Florida insurance is required.
- If the vehicle was purchased less than six months ago, bring the bill of sale.
Register and Title a Vehicle in Florida
First-time registration must be obtained in person. To register and title a vehicle in Florida, customers should select title as the appointment type.
Initial Registration Fee
The State of Florida requires a $225 Initial Registration Fee for first time registration if the owner does not have a Florida tag or record of a tag registered in their name for a vehicle they previously owned in Florida. The Initial Registration Fee applies to all vehicles, motor homes and trucks weighing less than 5,000 pounds.
Proof of Insurance
Proof of Florida insurance is required to register or renew a registration in Florida, including Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 and Property Damage Liability (PDL) in the amount of at least $10,000.
Motorcycles, mobile homes and utility trailers do not require insurance to obtain a registration in Florida.
If you cancel your insurance policy, you must surrender your tag to our office to avoid the suspension of your driver’s license.
Vehicle Registration Fees
Registration fees are set by the State of Florida and classified by vehicle type and weight.
|Classification||Net Weight||1 Year Registration||2 Year Registration|
|Automobile||2500 – 3499||$36.10||$72.20|
|Automobile||3500 – up||$46.10||$92.20|
|Truck||2000 – 3000||$36.10||$72.20|
|Truck||3001 – 5000||$46.10||$92.20|
|Truck||5001 – up||Contact us||Contact us|
|Utility Trailer||thru 500||$18.85||$37.70|
|Motor Home||thru 4499||$39.10||$78.20|
|Motor Home||4500 – up||$59.35||$118.70|