fbpx

Address & Name Change

Address Change

If you move, you must update your address on both your driver’s license or ID and vehicle registration within 30 days after changing your address.

Please Note

How to Change Your Address on Your Driver’s License or ID

Change Your Address Online

Residents who are currently REAL-ID compliant, indicated by a star in the top right-hand corner of their driver’s license or ID, may update their driver’s license online through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ gorenew.com website.

Change Your Address in Person

Customers may visit any of our six Orange County locations to replace or update their driver’s license or ID. To visit us in person, please schedule an appointment with SmartPass. Walk-ins are also welcome though wait times may vary.

What to Bring

Specific document requirements may vary depending on the individual.

Name Change

If you legally change your name, you must update your name on both your driver’s license or ID and vehicle registration within 30 days after changing your name.

Name changes my only be completed in person. Customers cannot change their name on their driver’s license or ID online.

Immigrant and Nonimmigrant VISA Holders

Customers who have legally changed their name by marriage, divorce or court order must update their USCIS documents to reflect their name change before they can update their name on their driver's license or ID.

Please Note

How to Change Your Name on Your Driver’s License or ID

Change Your Name in Person

Follow these steps to change your name on your driver’s license or ID.

What to Bring

If you have legally changed your name by marriage, divorce or court order, you must submit an original or certified U.S. marriage certificate(s), U.S. divorce document(s) or other court order(s). Copies are not accepted unless certified by the issuing authority.

Marriage certificates must be recognized by the state of Florida. Generally, marriage certificates issued in Florida or another state in accordance with the respective laws of those states are recognized by the State of Florida. Church-issued marriage certificates are not accepted.

Certified copies of marriage certificates or divorce decrees may be obtained at the Clerk of Court in the county where it was originally filed.

Specific document requirements may vary depending on the individual.