fbpx

Vehicle Sales & Purchases

Notice of Sale

You must complete, sign and submit a Notice of Sale to our office within 30 days of selling a vehicle, vessel or mobile home. The Notice of Sale can be completed either on the back of the Certificate of Title or by using form HSMV-82050 - Notice of Sale and/or Bill of Sale for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-Highway Vehicle or Vessel.

How to Submit a Notice of Sale

Via Mail

Orange County Tax Collector
P.O. Box 545100
Orlando FL 32854

Via Email (Use the subject line: Notice of Sale Submission)

How to Complete a Florida Title

How-to-complete-a-title-768x387

Private Sales (Selling to an Individual)

Seller’s Checklist:

Complete and Sign the Transfer of Title by Seller Portion of the Title

For a sale to be legal in Florida, the seller must transfer the title to the buyer. (See How to Complete a Florida Title above.)

Duplicate Titles

If the title was paper, and it has been lost or misplaced, the seller must apply for a duplicate title before selling the vehicle.

Electronic Titles

If the title is held electronically, you may request that the title be printed and mailed to you. To obtain a paper title in person, schedule an appointment to visit our office.

Paper Titles

If you are in possession of a paper title, you are required as the seller to release the title to the purchaser by completing the Transfer of Title by Seller section on the Florida title. (See How to Complete a Florida Title above.)

Record the Odometer Reading

The odometer reading at the time of purchase is required to be recorded on the title, and both the buyer and seller must acknowledge the odometer disclosure.

Remove the Tag (License Plate)

License plates, also known as tags, stay with the seller not the vehicle. The seller may choose to transfer the tag to a new or replacement vehicle; however, the seller must surrender the tag if:

  • They are moving out-of-state; or
  • They cancel insurance on the vehicle associated with the tag.

Complete the Sale

The seller is required submit a Notice of Sale to our office within 30 days of selling a vehicle, vessel or mobile home. The Notice of Sale can be completed either on the back of the Certificate of Title or by using form HSMV-82050 - Notice of Sale and/or Bill of Sale for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-Highway Vehicle or Vessel.

Once a Notice of Sale is filed, it is the buyer's responsibility to apply for title and registration before they can legally operate the vehicle. The buyer must complete an Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration form, attach it to the title and submit it to our office to transfer the title into their name. This must be done within 30 days to avoid a late transfer penalty fee. (See Purchasing or Bringing a Vehicle, Vessel or Mobile Home to Florida below.)

How to Submit a Notice of Sale

Via Mail

Orange County Tax Collector
P.O. Box 545100
Orlando FL 32854

Via Email (Use the subject line: Notice of Sale Submission)

Private Purchases (Purchasing from an Individual)

Buyer's Checklist

  • VIN inspection (if applicable)
  • Record the odometer reading
  • Remove the tag (seller)
  • Schedule an appointment to apply for title and register the vehicle

Conduct a VIN Inspection (If Applicable)

If the vehicle was not previously titled in Florida, the buy must complete the Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification form, which must be verified by a:

  • Tax Collector employee;
  • Licensed Florida motor vehicle dealer;
  • Florida notary public; or
  • Law enforcement officer.

Record the Odometer Reading

The odometer reading at the time of purchase is required to be recorded on the title, and both the buyer and seller must acknowledge the odometer disclosure.

Remove the Tag (Seller)

The seller must remove the tag from the sold vehicle.

Schedule an Appointment to Apply for Title & Register the Vehicle

To apply for title and register the vehicle, customers must schedule an appointment to visit one of our 6 locations.

If a vehicle is already titled in Florida, the title must be released by the seller to the purchaser. If the title is paper, the seller will complete the Transfer of Title by Seller section on the Florida title. (See How to Complete a Florida Title above.) If the title is held electronically, the seller must request a paper title or the seller and buyer must both visit us in person to complete a title reassignment.

Follow These Steps for Florida and Out-of-State Title Transfers

Existing Liens

In order for the vehicle to be sold, all existing liens must be legally satisfied. In Florida, a title cannot be transferred to a new owner until the lienholder reports that the existing lien has been satisfied by the current owner.

You may trade in a vehicle with an existing lien to a dealership. It is not necessary to request a paper title before trading in a vehicle to a licensed Florida dealer.

Purchasing from a Florida Dealership

In Florida, dealerships are required to apply for registration and title on behalf of the purchaser within 30 days, during which time the purchaser will be issued a temporary tag, or their current tag will be transferred. You must provide proof of insurance to the dealership.

Trading to a Dealership

Electronic Titles

If your title is held electronically, the dealer will process the paperwork and transfer your license plate.

Paper Titles

If you are in possession of a paper title, bring your title to the dealership. The dealer will process the paperwork.